Meggi is thriving as a Master, a competitive athlete, a coach and a Box co-owner. She’s a German who lives in Greece but is happy to throwdown all over Europe (as long as there aren’t any double unders!).

What’s your name and how old are you?

My Name is Meggi (short form for Mechthild) Pavlidis Wind. I am German but I live in Greece. I will turn 43 this June.

12592666_10207769986948575_2642190589948379039_n

How long have you been doing CrossFit and where do you train?

Crossfit found me at the age of 38. In the beginning, it was just something exciting and new, with much more action and varieties than Pilates, TRX and Yoga (this was what I was doing previously). I began with joining Crossfit classes 3 times a week, turning in a short period of time to 5-6 times per week. After some months, I started to participate in some national competitions, but still without training more than that what was offered in the daily classes at the box. When I turned 40 and I could take part in the masters division, things changed a little bit; I started to do strength training and tried to work more on my weaknesses. In 2014, I decided to do the Level 1 and in October 2014 I opened a box with some friends of mine. It’s called The Lab. the home of Reebok Crossfit LB. This is where I train and teach Crossfit classes.

What are the other commitments in your life?

CrossFit became a big part in my life and rules my daily program, both as an athlete and as a trainer. I spend many hours at the Lab, but the first and very important part is my life with my husband. Together we have a house and two big dogs, which need our care and attention as well.

What keeps you coming back for more?

First and foremost, my husbands support. Without his support, I could never do what is necessary for me to become a competitive athlete. He supports me in every possible way. I am also moved from the feeling that even at the age of 40 + I still can get stronger and learn new stuff. It keeps me young and pushes me setting new goals (e.g., new pr or max rep). I am surprised and content at the same time when I achieve those goals; it is a great reward for me. I also enjoy the fact that I can motivate younger people to choose a healthier way of life.

What achievements are you most proud of?

I am proud of the podium places at the Athens Throwdown, the Greek Throwdown, and the Cyprus Throwdown. I am also proud for my participation in some national battles the last 2 years. However, I enjoy even more the moments where I realize that my athletes improve and reach new goals, like doing their first handstand or climbing up the rope.

14956032_10210012472689317_366112231096461869_n

How has the Open / Qualifiers been for you?

I was very happy, but then 17.5 happened … The goal to make the top 200 was so close, as I was in the 180 place till the 17.4. The combination of Thrusters and jump rope just wasn’t for me. I am not there, YET.

What are your strengths?

I love handstand walking very much but many times it is scaled for Masters 40+. I do better in competition than in qualifiers.

14708175_10209952789957286_4049915782862366389_n

What are your weaknesses?

Definitely DU’s are not my best friend and doing Ring MU’s is not a sure skill for me yet. You could say that running is not my big love as well.

What are your goals for 2017 now the Open is over?

For sure I still have to get much stronger. I just managed to do my first 100kg back squat. I need more stamina and my endurance is not where I like it to be. In general, I work to improve everything step by step. I just qualified for the Berlin Throwdown in July where I will compete with my good friend and amazing athlete Brita Fritsch as a master’s team. Possibly I will go to one more Throwdown in the fall.

Who does your programming?

I tried some masters programming like Invictus and Ben Bergeron. But I found out that training by myself doesn’t push me enough. I didn’t have the luxury of having many masters at our box, but luckily in the last month, some new 35-39 Masters became part of our team. So at the moment, I train with an elite athlete at our box and we change the programming a little to be more suitable for me; a little less volume and kilos.

9564_10207664120701985_2468317543440154569_n

Can we find you on social media?

I can be found in Facebook, Instagram, Chalkitup and twitter.

What supplements do you swear by?

Creatine. Everything else I try to fuel as much as possible from food.

What’s always in your kitbag?

Power bands are my new love, my cf diary, some tape, lacrosse ball, my iPad for romwod

What advice would you give to a Master just starting out in CrossFit?

Don’t be afraid of weights or not being able to catch up with the younger people. To stay active or to become active is the most important thing in aging!

What’s the key to effective recovery for you?

8 hours of sleep, quality food and doing romwod everyday.

Favourite quote?

Quality over quantity.

10410658_10207464232344901_7808376928162849720_n

What would you advise CrossFitters to stop doing? What should they start (if they aren’t already!)?

I would advise them to do a lot of strict work before starting kipping or doing some butterfly and never rush. Mobility should be a big part, working with bodyweight and bands. CrossFit doesn’t have to be weights all the time. Do not overtrain!


Thanks for a great interview, Meggi!


Check out the other athletes in the Meet the Masters series

Grab your AMSport discount

200cc87f-59f9-41a2-8efb-50ce61e99aee-15

Enjoyed this interview? Make sure you don’t miss out on great content in the future by signing up for our weekly e-mail round up –

The Sunday Supplement.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Twitter